Artificial Intelligence, healthcare and the Turing test – Webcast with Springer Nature

About this webcast

Tuesday, October 19, 2021
8AM PDT | 11AM EDT | 4PM BST | 5PM CEST

Register now 

There is a lot of hype around artificial intelligence (AI) in a wide range of domains currently, and healthcare is no exception. While fear and uncertainty often result from the unknown that comes along with new technology, AI seems to enhance these concerns. Yet, these fears and uncertainties aren’t new – they date back to the dawn of AI, and the discussion as to whether machines can think.

This webcast is intended to assist the healthcare community as it engages with the subject of AI and its introduction into clinical practice, by considering what can be learnt from Alan Turing’s paper of the 1950’s, “The Imitation Game,” and how it can be applied in the healthcare domain. Using an example from radiation oncology, the presentation will focus on Turing’s own objections to his thought experiment and see how these objections find parallels in the clinical world. Unpacking these objections can help us to better understand the subject of AI and its role in society.

Explore:

  • Why and how to better understand the role of AI in healthcare
  • What has Alan Turing got to do with clinical practice?
  • Should we be excited, or worried, by AI in healthcare, or is it all just hype?

 

Register now 

Back to top